What Is Nudge in Gmail? And How to Turn It On and Off

In April 2018, Google rolled out the first major Gmail design overhaul for several years.

Nudge in Gmail Most of the service’s 1.4 billion users now have access to the new layout. If you don’t, you should be able to upgrade by clicking on the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner of the screen and selecting Try the new Gmail (don’t worry, it’s still possible to reverse the update).

Once you’ve upgraded, you’ll have access to a range of new features on both desktop and mobile. One of those new features is Nudge. But what is it? And how do you turn it on and off? Keep reading to find out.

What Is Nudge in Gmail?

Nudge is a productivity tool that aimed at both individuals and businesses. The feature has two purposes:

  • It can remind you to reply to important emails.
  • It can remind you to follow up emails on emails you sent but for which you haven’t received a response.

Sounds good, but some people might find it annoying, especially if they already operate close to inbox zero.

How to Turn Nudge On and Off in Gmail

Nudge in Gmail

Nudge is available in the web app and on Android devices. To turn off Nudge on the web app, follow these instructions:

  1. Open the web app.
  2. Ensure you have upgraded to the new design.
  3. Click on the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner.
  4. Choose Settings on the pop-up menu.
  5. Open the General tab.
  6. Scroll down to Nudges.
  7. Mark or unmark the checkbox next to Suggest emails to reply to as desired.
  8. Mark or unmark the checkbox next to Suggest emails to follow up on as desired.
  9. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Save.

Your changes will take effect next time you return to your inbox.

More Tips here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *